We focus on training our students to not only meet the basic requirements that the State of Oregon puts upon people to qualify for a concealed handgun license, but we ensure that our students feel comfortable with the laws surrounding concealed carry as well as feeling comfortable with a pistol in the aspects of safety, handling, firing and why you want to get a CHL. Our instruction ensures that you are aware of and ready for the responsibility that goes along with carrying concealed. Below is a breakdown of what our courses cover
Jeff teaches concealed handgun classes for Oregon, Arizona, Florida, and Utah licenses. He has traveled all across the state to transfer knowledge and is more than willing to travel to you for private group classes. He is NRA and BCI certified. The Oregon and Non-Resident Utah course not only meets but exceeds the requirements for the student to apply for a concealed handgun licnese in Oregon and Utah.
Who is eligible to apply for an Oregon Concealed Handgun License (CHL)?
An individual must be at least 21 years old with no felony, domestic violence or alchohol related criminal convictions and be able to legally own a firearm to attend this class. Part of the application process in Oregon is that you are required to take a handgun safety class and pass the background check performed by the Sheriff in the Oregon county in which the individual resides. Oregon law allows the issuance of a CHL to residents of adjoining states (WA, ID, NV and CA). If you desire to carry a concealed handgun in Oregon you must have this license. Oregon is one of the few states that does not recognize any orther state's license.
Oregon Resident License Course $50 (3.5 hours)
After taking one of our courses you will need to go to your local Sheriff office of the county you reside in. They will perform a background check. Upon a sucessful background check they will take a photo of you and issue you your concealed handgun license for the State of Oregon. The license curently costs $65 for 4 years. This fee is in addition to the cost of our classes and is paid to the local Sheriff's office.
As of October 1, 2015, the following states honor a Oregon Concealed License: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Vermont.
Utah Non-Resident License Course $75(3.5 hours)
After completing the course, all the necessary paperwork will be mailed by the instructor along with an ID photo and fingerprints. All the student will have to do is sign the document and provide payment via a credit card or check. Permit fee is curently $51 for 5 years.
Why take the Utah class? The Oregon permit is good in 17 states. The Utah permit offeres a non-resident, concealed handgun permit that is recognized in 32 states (excluding Oregon). The following states honor a Utah Concealed License: Alabama, Alska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucy, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisonsin, Wyoming
Take both classes for $100
What you will need to bring and expect for the class.
- please do not use hand lotion the day of the class as we will need to fingerprint you and hand lotion can cause issues getting a valid fingerprint.
- be ready for a photo to be taken
Form of payment: Cash is preferred but we also accept Check and Credit Card.
Updated Info can be found on